Above Nav Container

Utility Container

Search Trigger (Container)

Button (Container)

Mobile Menu Trigger (container)

Off Canvas Navigation Container

Close Trigger (container)

Search

Welcome

 

The Elementary School program at Centennial Academy gives scholars in Kindergarten through 4th grade a solid foundation in core academics, as well as regular opportunities to practice and develop their analysis, evaluation, and critical thinking skills. We capture scholars' enthusiasm and excitement and channel it into a program that emphasizes learning, community involvement, and global understanding.

We place special emphasis on literacy and mathematics, as well as on the study of world languages, STEAM, and the Arts – including music. Exploration and discovery are at the heart of our curriculum, which allows our scholars to develop initiative, flexibility, and independence.

Staff

Kindergarten

 

Kindergarten Team 2018 - 2019 

 

Kindergarten Teacher
Ms. Yolanda Davis
ydavis@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Florida Int'l University, BS Early Childhood and Elementary Ed 1-6, MS - Reading K-12
Nova Southeastern University, AP Educational Leadership, Ed.

Certifications/Endorsements - Early Childhood Education, Elementary Education- 1-6, Reading, ESOL, Educational Leadership

 

Kindergarten Teacher
Ms. Crystal Jackson
cjackson@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Georgia State University, BS in Birth Through Kindergarten Education
Certifications/Endorsements - Birth Through Kindergarten Sp Ed Preschool (Ages 3-5) Endorsement

Kindergarten Teacher
Ms. Lauren Rabideau
lrabideua@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: State University of New York, BA in Art History
Certifications/Endorsements - Teach for America '14

 

Kindergarten Instructor
Ms. Chassidy Mitchell
cmitchell@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Georgia Southern University,  BS Early Childhood Education
Certifications/Endorsements - P-5 Early Childhood Education

 

Kindergarten Teacher
Ms. Tiffany Watson
twatson@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Clayton State University- Bachelor of Science-Interdisciplinary Studies minor Education

 

School Readiness Coordinator/

Kindergarten EIP Teacher
Ms. Jennitra Zachery
jzachery@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Jackson State University-B.S. in Early Childhood Education; Kennesaw State University-Master's Degree in Elementary Education
Certifications/Endorsements: Math Endorsement & Science Endorsement (Georgia State University)

 

Associate Teacher
Ms. Shelia Appling
sappling@centennialacademycharter.org

 

 

Associate Teacher
Ms. Jasmine Browner
jbrowner@centennialacademycharter.org


Education:  Albany University, Atlanta Metropolitan State College
Certifications/Endorsements: Secondary Education

 

Associate Teacher
Ms. Marcha Gentry
mgentry@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Brigham Young University (BYU) B.S. in Dietetics and Nutrition
Certifications/Endorsements - Para Professional

 

 

 

First

First Grade Team 2018 - 2019 

 

1st Grade Teacher
Ms. Makesha Brown
mbrown@centennialacademycharter.org

 

1st Grade Teacher
Ms. Ashley Epps
aepps@centennialacademycharter.org 


Education: West Georgia, B.S. in Early Childhood Education; Walden University, Master's Degree in Reading and Mathematics
Certifications/Endorsements: Early Childhood Education

 

 

1st Grade Teacher
Ms. Daria Johnson
djohnson@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Georgia State University, B.S. Degree in Education
Certifications/Endorsements: ESOL Endorsement


 

1st Grade Teacher
Ms. Tiffany Moore
tmoore@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Florida A & M University, B.S Accounting; Mercer University- M.A.T. in Early Childhood Education

 

 

 

Second

Second Grade Team 2018 - 2019

 

2nd Grade Teacher
Ms. Stephanie Foxworth
sfoxworth@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Howard University MAT in Early Childhood Education BS in Early Childhood Education
Certifications/Endorsements: Early Childhood Education Teaching Certification

 

 

 

2nd Grade Teacher
Ms. Deidra Lattimore
dlattimore@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Florida Agricultural and Mechanical  University, B.S Communication
Certifications/Endorsements: Pre Kindergarten through 3rd Grade Primary Education

 

2nd Grade Teacher
Ms. Kelli McDowell
kmcdowell@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Columbus State University, BS in Early Childhood Education

 

2nd Grade Teacher
Ms. Ashley Monroe
amonroe@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Gordon State College, B.S Early Childhood Education with General Special Education

 

2nd Grade Teacher
Ms. Kieara Reed
kreed@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Northwestern University, B.S Education and Social Policy
Certifications/Endorsements: ESOL Certification

 

EIP Teacher
Ms. Terion Woods
twoods@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: University of Phoenix, Master's of Curriculum and Instruction English Language Arts; University of West Georgia, BS in Early Childhood Education
Certifications/Endorsements: Early Childhood Education P-5

 

 

Third

Third Grade Team 2018 - 2019 

 

3rd Grade Teacher
Ms. Bethany Bennett bbennett@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: University of Tennessee, BS in Psychology and minor in Elementary Education; MS in Elementary Education
Certifications/Endorsements: Early Childhood Education, Teacher Leader Endorsement, Science Endorsement

 

3rd Grade Teacher
Ms. LaShonda Glenn
lglenn@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: University of Georgia, BS in Early Childhood Education, MEd in Special Education
Certifications/Endorsements: ESOL Endorsement

 

 

3rd Grade Teacher
Ms. Cassandra Hall
chall@centennialacademycharter.org 


Education: University of Southern California, B.S. in Elementary Education

 

3rd Grade Teacher
Ms. Anesha James
ajames@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Georgia State University, BS P-5 Early Childhood Education
Certifications/Endorsements: Early Childhood Education, Gifted In-Field

EIP Teacher
Ms. Neil Dyer  ndyer@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Georgia State University,  BS in Early Childhood Education M.Ed in Elementary Education Curriculum and Instruction
Certifications/Endorsements - ESOL Endorsement, Mathematics Endorsement

 

Fourth

Fourth Grade Team 2018 - 2019 

 

 

4th Grade Math and Science Teacher
Ms. Charity Wells-Buckley
cwells@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Georgia Southern University, B.S. Health and Physical Education; Walden University, M.S. Ed. K-8 Science
Certifications/Endorsements: Health and Physical Education, Early Childhood Education, Gifted In-Field

 

 

4th Grade English Language Arts & Social Studies Teacher
Mr. Keith Jackson kjackson@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Howard University, Bachelor of Arts-Elementary Education with a minor in Physical Education; Purdue University, Master of Science, Educational Leadership with a concentration in Educational Studies; Prescott Valley, Educational Specialist- Educational Leadership with a concentration in Educational Studies.
Certifications/Endorsements: K-12 Leadership Endorsement; K-8 Social Sciences Endorsement; K-8 Reading/ Language Arts

 

4th Grade Math and Science Teacher
Ms. LaDeandra Scott lscott@centennialacademycharter.org

4th Grade English Language Arts & Social Studies Teacher
Ms. Lecreisha Webb lwebb@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Mississippi Valley State University, BS in Elementary Education (K-8); Alcorn State University, M.Ed in Secondary Education (School Guidance and Counseling)
Certifications/Endorsements: Early Childhood Education P-5; Middle Grades 4-8 (Language Arts and Social Studies); and School Guidance & Counseling K-12

Connections and World Languages Teams

Connections and World Languages Teams 2018 - 2019 

 

Language Teacher
Sra. Karina Figueroa-Blanco kfigueroa@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Universidad del Atlántico, B. Ed. in Foreign Languages
Certifications/Endorsements: Spanish

 

General Music Teacher
Ms. Leandra Lawrence llawrence@centennialacademycharter.org

Education: Georgia State University, BS in Early Childhood Education New York University, MA in Literacy Education
Certifications/Endorsements: Early Childhood Education Math

Art Teacher
Ms. Jordan Rager
jrager@centennialacademycharter.org


Education:Georgia State University
Certifications/Endorsements: B.F.A Art Education

ESOL Teacher
Ms. April Rhodes
arhodes@centennialacademycharter.org

Physical Education Teacher
Mr. Paul Skowronski
pskowronski@centennialacademycharter.org

Education: Georgia State University, BS in Health & Physical Education, Liberty University, Currently in Master's program, Administration & Supervision -
Certifications/Endorsements: Certified K-12th grade Health & Physical Education

 

Integrated Learning Coordinator
Ms. Monica Taylor mtaylor@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Georgia State University, B.S. Early Childhood Education; Kennesaw State University, Master's in Educational Leadership and Specialist in Educational Instructional Technology 
Certifications/Endorsements: Gifted (K-12) and Math (K-5)

 

 

 

 

 

Student Life Team

Student Life Team 2018 - 2019 

 

Director of Student Life and Leadership
Mr. Thomas Bussey tbussey@centennialacademycharter.org

 

Dean of Students
Ms. Angel-Dama Hendricks ahendricks@centennialacademycharter.org

Education:
 Xavier University of Louisiana, BS in Psychology; American University, M.A. Ed. in Elementary Education; National Louis University,  Ed. S in Administration and Supervision
Certifications/Endorsements: Elementary Education Leading Educators

Kindergarten-2nd Grade Counselor/Lead Counselor
Ms. Lisa Miller
emiller@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: University of Mississippi, B.A. in Psychology; Reinhardt University, M.A.T. Early Childhood Education; Mercer University - Master of Science in School Counseling
Certifications/Endorsements: National Certified Counselor; Associate Professional Counselor Early Childhood Education

3th - 4th Grades Counselor 
Ms. Chastity Williams cwilliams@centennialacademycharter.org


Education - Bachelor of Science in Early Childhood Education from Georgia State University; Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling from Argosy University
Certifications/Endorsements- Early Childhood Education, Mathematics Endorsement, National Certified Counselor, Georgia Associate Professional Counselor

Recess Coach
Mr. Jeremy McClary jmcclary@centennialacademycharter.org

Instructional Support

Instructional Support 2018 - 2019 

 

Special Education Coordinator
Ms. Nadiah Trotman ntrotman@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Lincoln University, B.S. Elementary Education; George Washington University: M.A.Ed. Education & Human Development/ Early Childhood Special Education; Nova Southeastern University: Ed.D. Human Services Administration
Certifications/Endorsements: General Education K-8 Special Education Birth-Adult

 

RTI/SST Coordinator
Ereco Maddox emaddox@centennialacademycharter.org
 

Education: Georgia Southern University, BS Education; Nova Southeastern University ED.S

 

K-4 Academic Coordinator
Takevia Daniel
tdaniel@centennialacademycharter.org

Special Education Teacher
Ms. Erika Hall
ehall@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Georgia State University, BBA Marketing Keller Graduate School of Mgmt. Finance; Georgia State University Special Education Teaching Certification

 

Special Education Teacher
Dr. Christopher Thomas cthomas@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: North Carolina A&T State University, B.S. in Criminal Justice; Clark Atlanta University, M.A. in Criminal Justice Administration; Clark Atlanta University - Ed.D in Educational Leadership

Associate Teacher
Jarmal Hawkins jhawkins@centennialacademycharter.org

 

Leadership Team

LeadershipTeam 2018 - 2019 

 

Head of Elementary School & Director of Student Services
Ms. Erica Curry
ecurry@centennialacademycharter.org


Education: Cambridge College, Certificate of Advanced Graduate Studies in School Administration and Leadership (Ed.S.) Jacksonville State University: Masters in Public Administration (M.P.A.; University of North Georgia: Bachelor of Arts in Middle Grades Education Jacksonville State University, Bachelor of Arts in Communication: Public Relations/English
Certifications/Endorsements: Educational Leadership; Middle Grades Language Arts; Early Childhood Education; Special Education Behavior Disorders Consultative (P-12);Special Education Social Science, Mathematics, Reading, Science, and Language Arts; Special Education General Curriculum; Reading (P-12) ▪ Coaching Endorsement

Director of Student Life
Mr. Thomas Bussey

Curriculum and Instruction

Curriculum and Instruction

K-4

 

Curriculum Programs/Approaches 

 

Wit & Wisdom (ELA)

Lexia Core 5 (Phonics)

Rollins Center for Language & Literacy (ELA Balanced Literacy Block)

Eureka (Math)

Stem-Scopes (Science)

Key Features of the Elementary Division

2:25 Average Teacher:Student Ratio

Associate Teachers (Kindergarten & Special Education)

Applied STEAM Learning  and Success Skills

Google Classrooms

Flexible Grouping (K-2)

Self-Contained Classrooms (3rd Grade)

Team Teaching (4th Grade)

Spanish Instruction (K-4)

120 minute Literacy Block

Applied STEAM Integrated Learning

Success Skills (Communication, Collaboration, Critical Thinking, Work Ethic)

 

Grading

Category

Percentage of the Grade

Number of Grades per Semester

Formative

40%

8-12

Summative

30%

at least 2

Success Skills

20%

8 (two per success skill)

Homework

10%

8-12

Connections

Connections Courses Offered

Physical Education

Art

Music

Spanish

 

Student Life

Student Life

Dress Code/ Supplies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Attendance Policy

ATTENDANCE POLICY

Scholars are expected to be present and on time to school in accordance with the provision of the Georgia Compulsory Attendance Law (O.C.G.A. 202690.1, et seq.) and Centennial Academy Policy. Scholars who are absent or tardy miss valuable instructional time and other important school activities and are less likely to master those skills, concepts, and principles needed for success. Excessive unexcused absences and/or truancy may lead to legal action against the parent/guardian in addition to a review of the student’s enrollment status.

When a scholar is absent, he/she must bring a note to school signed by the parent/legal guardian or physician stating the reason for the absence. The note must be given to the scholars homeroom/1st period teacher. An excused absence does not exempt a student from being marked absent. An excused absence will require the teacher to provide the student with make-up work upon request. An excused absence may prevent the school from seeking legal action should the scholar miss 10 or more days. If a parent fails to comply with the attendance policy, a referral to the Centennial Academy Attendance Review Board will be made.

At Centennial Academy, the school day begins promptly at 8:00 a.m. All scholars are required to report to school and all classes daily on time every day. On time scholars are present in their classroom ready to receive instruction at 8:00 am. Any scholar who arrives to class after 8:00 a.m. is considered to be tardy and will be recorded as such. When a scholar is tardy to school, they must be escorted to the main office by their parent to receive a tardy slip. Attendance will be closely monitored and parents of scholars who are tardy for school or class more than three times will be contacted by a school administrator.

In order to manage and maintain optimal scholar attendance, Centennial Academy will use both positive reinforcement and progressive discipline measures to address tardiness and absenteeism. Positive incentives will be awarded to students who maintain good attendance over specified periods of time. At the same time, the progressive discipline policy outlined below will be used.

*Please note, acceptable attendance, behavior, and grades are required in order for scholars to remain eligible for enrollment.

Code of Conduct

Extracurricular Activities

Counseling

 


The Counseling Department provides support to scholars, families, faculty, and staff in a number of capacities. We advocate for scholar success in three primary areas, according to the ASCA National Model, which includes counseling in personal and social, academic, and career development.

Click here to learn more.

News & Updates

News and Updates

ELEMENTARY School Division Newsletter November 2018

ELEMENTARY School Division Newsletter October 2018

Elementary School Division Newsletter

Elementary School Division Newsletter August 2018